Rebecka Sofia Ahvenniemi

Born in Finland in 1982, Rebecka is a composer now living in Bergen, Norway.

Rebecka specializes in text, voice and phonetics in music, and she often works with concepts like breath and articulation in both vocal and instrumental sounds.Today Rebecka has a research scholarship in composition at the Grieg Academy, University of Bergen. She is a former student of Morten Eide Pedersen. She took her master’s degree in composition at the Grieg Academy. She has also taken a master’s degree in philosophy, her master thesis concerning the truth concepts of Heidegger and Adorno and their relation to art. Rebecka is also a board member of the Norwegian Society of Composers (Norsk Komponistforening) and Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra (BFO). Rebecka has also recently participated in an artistic residency at The Atlantic Center for the Arts in Florida, with Natasha Barrett as the master artist.

            Works for wind orchestra

  • Muse’s Puzzle (2014)

  • Vårlige dikt fra Vestlandet (2013)

  • Gioco Di Aria. Luftspill. (2013)

  • Ikivihreä (Evergreen) (2012)

  • FruSSSna kviSStar (2011)

  • Canto della foresta (2010)

  • An Overwhelming Game (2006)